Creditcrest Broker

The best interests duty file: every option the broker considered, costed month by month, and a file that will not seal with a blank where RG 273 says a reason belongs.

The state of this file

Not sealed: 4 things the file still needs

This is not a list of mistakes. It is the file saying what is not in it yet, and what ASIC's guidance expects to find in each place. Nothing here is filled in for you: every one of them is the broker's own words about this consumer, and a sentence this software wrote would be the boilerplate ASIC has said in advance will be hard to demonstrate.

  1. At least one option, so that there is something to cost.

    We consider that it is important that consumers are presented with options and understand why: (a) the options presented to them have been selected; (b) other options have not been presented to them …; and (c) a particular option has been recommended to them.

    RG 273.93, Regulatory Guide 273 Mortgage brokers: Best interests duty

    Recorded in opt.

  2. The name of the person whose file this is.

    We expect that evidence of compliance with the best interests obligations will come predominantly from the broker’s records.

    RG 273.21, Regulatory Guide 273 Mortgage brokers: Best interests duty

    Recorded in by.

  3. The credit licensee the broker acts under, because the licensee carries the obligation to take reasonable steps.

    We expect that evidence of compliance with the best interests obligations will come predominantly from the broker’s records.

    RG 273.21, Regulatory Guide 273 Mortgage brokers: Best interests duty

    Recorded in lic.

  4. Either the option the broker recommended, or the reason no recommendation was made. A file with neither says nothing.

    Generally, we expect you to keep records that include … the options and ultimate recommendation you gave and the reasons why (including a detailed description of your decision-making process).

    RG 273.165, Regulatory Guide 273 Mortgage brokers: Best interests duty

    Recorded in rec.

Every rate and fee below is what the lender itself published, read from 93 banks of the 117 banking brands on the Consumer Data Right register under the Consumer Data Right on 19 Sept 2026 — 7 days ago. 1,360 products were read. Rates change without notice and nothing here calls a bank when you open it: a file sealed today is a point-in-time record and says so.

Borrowing
$500,000
Over
30 years
Loan to value ratio
not stated
Deposit or equity
not stated
Offset balance
not stated
What the property is worth has not been said

Without it there is no loan to value ratio, and a product whose rate depends on the ratio is not costed here at all. That is not a missing feature. Across the products read, the gap between a lender's cheapest tier and its dearest runs to 218 basis points — a few hundred dollars a month on $500,000 — so costing a tiered product at its best rate would assume this consumer qualifies for it, and costing it at its worst would overstate every lender that tiers and quietly reorder the file.

Nothing chosen for this file is blocked by it yet, because the products chosen so far publish no loan to value tier on the rate used.

The options considered

No option has been recorded yet, so there is nothing to cost. Choose the products the broker actually looked at in the form below; they are the ones Creditcrest Compare would show for this loan, costed by the same arithmetic on the same day's figures, so the figure in this file and the figure in the comparison table are one computation rather than two that happen to agree.

What the consumer said they want

Without limiting the assessment, some matters you are likely to need to consider are: … the consumer’s priorities and preferences for different products or credit providers … [and] the consumer’s needs and objectives.

RG 273.48, Regulatory Guide 273 Mortgage brokers: Best interests duty

Nothing has been recorded. A recommendation cannot be recorded against a consumer whose requirements and objectives were not.

The matters RG 273.48 names

ASIC's list is expressly not exhaustive — it opens "Without limiting the assessment" — so a full table below does not establish anything on its own, and a blank row is a blank row rather than a finding. None of these six is required for this file to seal, which is why they are not in the list at the top.

MatterWhat was recorded
the consumer’s priorities and preferences for different products or credit providers (including the price of the loan, product features such as bundled products or offset accounts, and the level of service of the credit provider)
RG 273.48(a)
not recorded
the consumer’s needs and objectives (including the term of the loan, the amount to be borrowed and the outcome the consumer would like to achieve)
RG 273.48(b)
not recorded
the consumer’s personal circumstances and financial situation, to the extent that they could affect the suitability of different products
RG 273.48(c)
not recorded
reasonably foreseeable changes to the consumer’s personal circumstances and financial situation
RG 273.48(d)
not recorded
whether you have access to products that meet the consumer’s needs, objectives, preferences and priorities
RG 273.48(e)
not recorded
whether you have the ability or expertise to make a recommendation that meets the consumer’s needs, objectives, preferences and priorities
RG 273.48(f)
not recorded

The recommendation

Generally, we expect you to keep records that include … the options and ultimate recommendation you gave and the reasons why (including a detailed description of your decision-making process).

RG 273.165, Regulatory Guide 273 Mortgage brokers: Best interests duty

Nothing has been recorded. This software does not propose one: which product is in this consumer's best interests is the broker's judgement and RG 273.18 puts it there in terms. The list at the top of the page says so as a state of the file rather than as a suggestion.

Commission and conflicts

The conflict priority rule means that you must not recommend a product or service of a related party that would create extra revenue for yourself, your credit licensee or another related party, unless doing so would also be in the consumer’s best interests.

RG 273.147, Regulatory Guide 273 Mortgage brokers: Best interests duty

No commission figure is recorded against any option here. The Consumer Data Right publishes what a product costs a consumer and not what it pays a broker, so there is nothing in this data to fill it with and nothing has been invented. That is an absence of information, not a statement that no commission is payable.

The file, as a link

There is no database behind this page. What is in the address bar is the file: save it, send it, open it again next year and the same committed figures produce the same arithmetic. Nothing about the consumer is written anywhere by this software, which is also why nothing about them can be recovered from it if the link is lost.

This file is 30 characters of link, and it is the only copy: nothing here is stored. It opens anywhere up to 2000 characters, and here up to about 8000.

The same file as data · what the fields are and what the file refuses

Fill the file in

The loan

Dollars.

Not defaulted. Until it is given, a product whose rate depends on the ratio is not costed at all.

Years.

Years. Used only when repayments are interest only.

Dollars. Applied only to products that publish an offset account; RG 273.98 asks for the offset calculation to be kept. Nothing is assumed if it is left blank.

The options the broker considered

Hold ⌘ or Ctrl to choose more than one. Nothing is pre-selected: which options were considered is a fact about what the broker did.

Each of these needs a reason — RG 273.61(a).

Nothing is marked unavailable. Mark a product in the list above and a field for its reason appears here when the page reloads.

Nothing chosen yet. The products listed are the ones Creditcrest Compare reads for this loan, from the same imported data.

Who the file belongs to

The person. Not a company, not a system, not this software.

The licensee carries the obligation to take reasonable steps.

A reference, not a name. The smaller the better.

YYYY-MM-DD.

The consumer's requirements and objectives
In their words — RG 273.48

the consumer’s priorities and preferences for different products or credit providers (including the price of the loan, product features such as bundled products or offset accounts, and the level of service of the credit provider)

the consumer’s needs and objectives (including the term of the loan, the amount to be borrowed and the outcome the consumer would like to achieve)

the consumer’s personal circumstances and financial situation, to the extent that they could affect the suitability of different products

reasonably foreseeable changes to the consumer’s personal circumstances and financial situation

whether you have access to products that meet the consumer’s needs, objectives, preferences and priorities

whether you have the ability or expertise to make a recommendation that meets the consumer’s needs, objectives, preferences and priorities

The recommendation, and the reasons RG 273 asks for
The recommendation

Only the options above. Nothing is pre-selected and nothing is suggested.

The person who made it.

YYYY-MM-DD.

About this consumer. A reason that could apply to anyone will be hard to demonstrate — ASIC has said so in advance.

The four places RG 273 names a reason

The fourth is the reason a product is not available to this consumer — RG 273.61(a) — which belongs to the product and is above.

The loan being refinanced, and what switching costs
The existing loan

A percentage: 6.49 means 6.49%.

Dollars.

What switching costs

A break-even month is the comparison of the existing loan with one other, and which one is the broker's recommendation. It is computed once a recommendation is recorded and not before.

What the consumer decided, what was not considered, and conflicts
RG 273.104, 273.172 and the conflict priority rule

YYYY-MM-DD.

Sealing

YYYY-MM-DD. Supplying it is the act of sealing, and it goes in the link because the hash is computed from the link.

What is not in these figures

Most of the market. 93 banks are read here — AMP Bank GO, My State PM Production, Greater Bank, Arab Bank Australia Ltd Prod, NORTHERN INLAND CREDIT UNION LTD., ME Bank, Police Bank, Border Bank, Westpac, NAB, ANZ, CommBank, Regional Australia Bank, ING, Lending and bank accounts, both associated with BSB number 939 200, Community First Credit Union, Bankwest, FIRST OPTION BANK, Beyond Bank Australia, Cairns Bank, Teachers Mutual Bank, IMB Bank, Suncorp Bank, SCCU, Bank of Sydney, AMB Bank Product, Bank First Production, Up, Broken Hill Bank, Bendigo Bank, Defence Bank Limited, Summerland, Dnister Bank, Queensland Country Bank, CENTRAL MURRAY CREDIT UNION LIMITED, P&N Bank, bcu, Credit Union SA, Gateway Bank, Qudos Bank, Fire Service Credit Union, MOVE Bank, St. George Bank, BankSA, Bank of Melbourne, A-Auswide Bank, UniBank, Firefighters Mutual Bank, Health Professionals Bank, Bank Australia, Judo Bank, Macquarie, ubank, Goulburn Murray Credit Union Co-Operative Ltd, LCU, Coastline, UNITY BANK, THE CAPRICORNIAN, BankVic, South West Slopes Credit Union Ltd trading as SWSbank, POLICE CREDIT UNION LIMITED, ORANGE CREDIT UNION LTD, MACARTHUR CREDIT UNION LTD, WOOLWORTHS TEAM BANK, People First Bank, Heritage, Easystreet, The Mutual Bank, Great Southern Bank, QBANK, HORIZON BANK, BankWAW, WARWICK CREDIT UNION, Bank of us, TRANSPORT MUTUAL CREDIT UNION LTD, Australian Mutual Bank, Bank of Queensland, BOQ Specialist, RACQ Bank, Virgin Money Australia, Bank of China, ANZ Plus, Unloan Prod, CENTRAL WEST CREDIT UNION LTD, Newcastle Permanent, BNK Bank (Goldfields Money/BCHL), Aussie Home Loans, AFG Home Loans Alpha, Connective Select Home Loans, NRMA Insurance, Qantas Money, Tiimely, Liberty Financial — out of 117 banking brands on the Consumer Data Right register when it was counted on 19 September 2026. A credit union, a mutual or a non-bank lender that is not on that list is not here, and neither is any lender whose data could not be read.

Anything negotiated, and it is not a small thing. A published rate is not the rate a lender gives. The ACCC measured an average discount of about 128 basis points off the advertised rate at the big four banks, on criteria no lender publishes — which on a $500,000 loan is larger than the gap between most of the rows below. It is an average across a market and not a promise to anybody, and it cuts both ways: a rate you are already paying may carry a discount that appears in no table, and a rate here may be beaten by asking. Nor is a package discount conditional on holding other accounts here, or an offer made to keep a customer who threatened to leave, or a rate that depends on a valuation this page has not seen.

Lenders’ mortgage insurance. Above 80% of the property's value most lenders charge it, it runs to thousands of dollars, it is not in the Consumer Data Right product data, and it is not in any figure on this page.

What a fixed rate reverts to. A lender publishes the fixed rate and not the rate the loan falls back to when the fixed period ends, so no total here runs past a fixed period.

Whether anybody would lend you this. These are published prices. Whether a lender would approve a particular person for a particular loan is a credit decision, and nothing here has a view on it.

Fees no reader could price. Where a lender publishes a fee this could not turn into an amount — a charge set as a rate, or one on a billing cycle it did not state — the fee is named on the row and left out of the total, and the total is marked as a floor. It is not counted as nought, because nought would make the lender who discloses least look cheapest. On this loan that applies to 133 products of the 274 costed.

What the broker's panel is. The products offered here are the ones in the imported Consumer Data Right data. A broker's own panel is a different list — narrower in most places, and wider where it includes non-banks that publish nothing — and this software has no view on which products this broker can actually submit to. RG 273.171 says a broker is unlikely to need reasons for every alternative product on the market; what this page can show is what it read, and it says how much of the market that is.

What a product pays a broker. Not published in this data at all, so the commission table is empty rather than nought. The conflict priority rule turns on it, and an empty table is the honest state.

Whether this consumer would be approved. A published price is not a credit decision. Whether a product is available to this consumer is the broker's finding and is recorded as theirs, with the reason RG 273.61(a) asks for.

What this software does not say.

Creditcrest Technologies is not a credit provider, is not a credit assistance provider, and does not hold an Australian credit licence. Its software produces evidence; the licensee makes the decision.